MEDIA RELEASE



15 February 2024

NIAMH SHAW ELECTED CHAIR OF MOUNT ASPIRING COLLEGE SCHOOL BOARD

Niamh Shaw has been elected Chair of the Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College School Board following the completion of Dr Ian Hall's tenure as a co-opted member of the Board.

Niamh said she was looking forward to continuing the fine work of Dr Ian Hall in his role as Chair.

"Ian has been an exemplary board chair and provided outstanding governance and guidance of the board members and the senior leadership of the college. Like Ian, I am committed to ensuring excellent governance of the college with a focus on wellbeing and communication."

First elected to the Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College School Board in 2022, Niamh brings extensive governance experience to her new role, including a three-year term as a Queenstown-Lakes District Councillor from 2019-22 and as current Chair of Path Wānaka | Ara ki Wānaka.

Niamh said that supporting programmes and policies for students and staff that build resilience around risks facing young people was a focus for her.

"I believe the most healthy and positive outcomes for our young people are achieved when we have open engagement among students, teachers, staff, parents, caregivers, whānau, and the wider community.

"As a board, we recognise parents and caregivers and the broader community as our partners in supporting our young people to strive for success and achieve their personal goals.

"The current leadership of the college is working hard to ensure an inclusive and sustainable learning environment supported by wide-ranging pastoral care.

"It's wonderful to see students engaging in the many facets of college life and reflecting the school's values in the way they support each other.

"Our aim is to provide a place for every student to grow and be proud of who they are."

Outgoing Chair Dr Ian Hall, who has served for four years as board chair, said he had enjoyed his involvement with the college and was proud of the gains the school had made in recent times.

"A strong board is now in place and I feel confident that the college will continue to offer an excellent education for all students.

It's been a special pleasure to spend time with such wonderful students and to see their success in so many fields."

The members of the board are Mark Sinclair who is a parent representative and was re-elected as Deputy Chair at last night's meeting, Ben Taylor (Chair of the Finance Committee and a parent representative), Ruth Heath (parent representative), Shona Brown (parent representative), Nicola Jacobsen (Principal), Emma Smith (staff representative), and Zoe Laws (student representative).

Niamh's tenure as Chair is for one year after which a further election will take place.

More information: Please contact Principal Nicola Jacobsen on 03 443 0498 or principal@mtaspiring.school.nz