MEDIA RELEASE



8 December 2023

MAC CELEBRATES JUNIOR STUDENTS AT ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONIES

Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College has celebrated the academic achievement and service of its junior students at its 2023 Junior Awards ceremonies held on Thursday 7 December and Friday 8 December.

Principal Nicola Jacobsen said the awards recognised academic, artistic, sporting and service achievement.

"We pride ourselves on being a place for all students to grow and be proud of who they are, and encourage our students to not only make the most of the curriculum opportunities available, but to get involved in all aspects of school life.

"Academically, our results are well above the national average and reflect our focus on the core skills of numeracy and literacy, as well as a range of other subjects designed to prepare our students for their future pathways.

"We also place a strong emphasis on our values which represent what we stand for as a school community and inform how we treat ourselves, each other and our environment.

"I am very proud of our junior students and thankful for the support they receive from their families and whānau and our local community."

The best all round student awards went to Alice Chaly and Elliot Lovelock (Year 7), Holly Radford and Sammy Watkins (Year 8), Isabel Martin and Cooper Norman (Year 9), and Jack Sides and Nico Pettit (Year 10), and the whole-hearted contribution prize went to Nico Pettit.

Academic awards for the highest achievers in each class went to:

- Emily Anderson, Charlie Cave, Camilla Foskett, Toni Guy, Alex McErlich, Nadia Thomas, and Matilda Verbeck (Year 7)
- Merryn Foster, Amber Gemmell, Theo Guilleux, Emma Head, Niamh Nolan, Liam Thomas, and Bella Wright (Year 8)
- Nieve McRae, Sam Irvine, Phoebe Cervelli, Emily Hunt, Olivia Coad, Lily Garrett, and Tim Heiler (Year 9)
- Denali Emmitt, Kasey Brooks, Maja Griffith-Jones, Ruby Smith, Phoebe Laker, and Zoe Gumpatzes (Year 10).

In addition to the presentation of awards, the ceremonies featured a number of special performances, including a haka pōwhiri performed by Te Mākahi o Tititea (MAC's kapa haka group), the MAC junior band performing 'Dreams' by Fleetwood MAC, and students performing original music and cover songs.

We are grateful to prize sponsors Wastebusters, Racers Edge, Revology, and Mitre Ten MEGA.

More information: Please contact Principal Nicola Jacobsen on 03 443 0498 or principal@mtaspiring.school.nz

Related documents

- List of award winners (Years 7 and 8)
- List of award winners (Years 9 and 10)

Related images

- Image 1:Best all round students Years 7 & 8 (L-R): Elliot Lovelock (Y7), Alice Chaly (Y7), Principal Nicola Jacobsen, Sammy Watkins (Y8), Holly Radford (Y8)
- Image 2: Highest academic achievers Year 7 (L-R): Toni Guy, Charlie Cave, Matilda Verbeck, Nadia Thomas (absent: Emily Anderson and Camilla Foskett)
- Image 3: Highest academic achievers Year 8 (L-R): Emma Head, Liam Thomas, Theo Guilleux, Niamh Nolan, Bella Wright, Merryn Foster, Amber Gemmell
- Image 4: Best all round students Years 9 & 10 (L-R): Cooper Norman (Y9) and Isabel Martin (Y9) (absent: Jack Sides (Y10) and Nico Pettit (Y10))
- Image 5: Highest academic achievers Year 9 (L-R): Olivia Coad, Nieve McRae, Emily Hunt, Lily Garrett ,Tim Heiler, Phoebe Cervelli, Sam Irvine
- Image 6: Highest academic achievers Year 10 (L-R): Denali Emmitt, Phoebe Laker, Zoe Gumpatzes, Ruby Smith, Maja Griffith-Jones, Kasey Brooks