MEDIA RELEASE



20 October 2023

MAC CELEBRATES STUDENT COMMITMENT AND ACHIEVEMENT IN THE ARTS, SERVICE AND TE AO MĀORI

Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College this week <Thursday 19 October> celebrated the commitment and achievement of its students in the arts, service and te ao Māori.

Principal Nicola Jacobsen said the awards reflected the breadth of opportunities available to students at the college.

"In addition to our strong focus on academic excellence, we encourage our students to make the most of all aspects of college life so they can grow and be proud of who they are.

"The arts offer our students an invaluable window into the human experience, allowing them to develop the skills they need to tell their own stories and explore different perceptions of the world and their place in it through music, drama, dance and visual art.

"Developing a deeper understanding of te ao Māori within our learning community is one of our strategic priorities so we are thrilled to see students recognised for nurturing te ao Māoril at our school.

"Our recognition of service reflects how important we believe it is for students to give their time and skills in the service of others in our local community and beyond."

Arts Service Blues were awarded to students who have made a significant contribution to, or shown leadership in, the Arts for two or more years; Arts Achievement Blues were awarded to students who have achieved significant success in the arts; and Arts Commendation Certificates were awarded to students who have shown commitment, leadership or achievement within the arts during the year.

Students awarded Service Blues were recognised for their high standard of achievement and commitment to voluntary service at the school or in the local community. Such service includes participation in the college's student-led environmental group Team Green, anti-bullying group 'Sticks 'n Stones', Kahu Youth, St Johns, the local Fire Service, the Relay for Life, and the 40 Hour Challenge.

Te Ao Māori Blues were awarded to students for their contribution to te ao Māori and leadership and achievement in this area, including regular participation in Te Mākahi o Tititea (kapa haka) practices and performances, whānau hui leadership, cultural committee membership, and involvement in kura reo and other language wānanaga.

Selected students were awarded MAC Values Awards in recognition of the way their behaviour reflects our school values, and special awards were also given to students who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and achievement in the arts and culture.

MAC is immensely grateful to the staff and community members and organisations who generously dedicate their time to support and provide opportunities for its students to pursue their passions.

The Sports Awards evening will be held on Wednesday 25 October.

More information: Please contact Principal Nicola Jacobsen on 03 443 0498 or principal@mtaspiring.school.nz

LIST OF AWARDS

ARTS COMMENDATION

CERTIFICATE

Kasey Brooks Max Byrne

Alice Chaly Luke Gendall

Alexis-Sofia Harvey-Wills

Emma Head Suki Leigh Robbie McRae Sophie Walsh

ARTS SERVICE BLUE

Amy Benson
Miki Bercelli
Jemma Brake
Eve Bretherton
Cholula Brown
Max Byrne
Sam Caumette
Tayla Doran
Paige Gawn
Estelle Gellatly
Oscar Goodwin

Alexis-Sofia Harvey-Wills Brooke Hutchison

Ruby McLachlan Matilda Metcalfe

Tane Haines

Ella Miles
Otis Murphy
Lena Pollard
Portia Randall
Isabella Soper
Grace Thomas
Aria Thor-Poet
Vanessa Vickers
Laura Watkins
James Watson
Clarke West

Aria Winter

India Yule

ARTS ACHIEVEMENT BLUE

Amy Benson Hunter Cranfield Tayla Doran OscarGoodwin Isabel Martin Matilda Metcalfe Otis Murphy Isabella Soper Grace Thomas Clarke West Priya White

SERVICE BLUE

Amy Benson

Jemma Brake Paige Gawn Ava Hay Lewis Inder Sienna Jones Emma Lamb Milly Lewis Freja Malmo Jessie McNeil Noah Moody Tasmin Murphy Hazel Murray Ben Pell Lulu Pettit Nico Pettit Lena Pollard Lucy Radford Elise Tomkins Laura Watkins James Watson Lily Wilson Molly Wilson Jessie Winter

TE AO MĀORI

COMMENDATION CERTIFICATE

Alice Chaly Laila Telfer

India Yule

Oscar Waddington Zoe Waddington Arlo Waddington

TE AO MĀORI ACHIEVEMENT BLUE

Anataia White Melia Brett Ryan Enoka

TE AO MĀORI SERVICE BLUE

Anataia White Sam Caumette Melia Brett Ryan Enoka Hazel Murray

MAC VALUES AWARDS Manaakitanga Awards

Arts: Clarke West

Te Ao Māori: Anataia White Service: Emma Lamb

Whanaungatanga Awards

Arts: Oscar Goodwin
Te Ao Māori: Hazel Murray
Service: Laura Watkins

Aroha Awards

Arts: Laura Watkins

Te Ao Māori: Lucy Maibach **Service**: Sienna Jones

Ihi Awards

Arts: Paige Gawn Te Ao Māori: Oscar

Waddington

Service: Tasmin Murphy

SPECIAL AWARDS

Junior Music Award 7&8:

Merryn Foster

Junior Music Award 9&10:

Ruby Smith

Senior Music Tech Award:

Oscar Goodwin

Senior Music Award: Clarke

West

Thomson Award for Dance:

Ruby McLachlan and Tayla

Doran

Thomson Wright Award for Direction and Backstage:

Robbie McRae

Kings Performing Arts Award:

Laura Watkins

Heskell Award for Excellence

in Drama: Zoe Raffills

Senior Languages Award:

Lulu Pettit

Tecorians Award for Senior

Speech: Libby Fraser

Aspiring Writers Award: Amy

Benson

Senior Debating Award:

Jackson Duguid