MEDIA RELEASE



16 December 2024

MAC CELEBRATES JUNIOR STUDENTS AT ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONIES

Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College celebrated the academic achievement and service of its junior students at its 2024 Junior Awards ceremonies held on Thursday 12 December (Years 7 & 8) and Friday 13 December (Years 9 & 10).

Principal Nicola Jacobsen said the awards recognised academic, artistic, cultural, sporting and service achievement.

"We pride ourselves on being a place for all students to grow and be proud of who they are, and we encourage students to make the most of the curriculum opportunities available, and to get involved in all aspects of school life.

"Academically, our results are well above the national average and reflect our focus on the core skills of numeracy and literacy, as well as a range of other subjects designed to prepare our students for their future pathways.

"We also place a strong emphasis on our values which represent what we stand for as a school community and inform how we treat ourselves, each other and our environment.

"I am very proud of our junior students and thankful for the support they receive from their families and whānau, and our local community."

The best all round student awards went to Bill Dobson and Edie Yandall (Year 7), Emily Anderson and Alice Chaly (Year 8), Emma Head and Deacon Gwilliam Browne (Year 9), and Zoe Waddington and Madi Smith (Year 10).

Academic awards for the highest achievers in each class went to:

- PJ Foxley, Edie Yandall, Bill Dobson, Tyla Scherger, Emily Boswell, Sami Reid, Tenki Watanabe (Year 7)
- Emily Anderson, Logan Davidson, Travis Clarke, Sam Seville, Finn Tomes, Malcie Cervelli, Jack Sutherland (Year 8)
- Blanka Lewis, Sierra Emmitt, Liam Thomas, Bella Wright, Lily Brown, Amber Gemmell, Oscar Adams, Stella Harper (Year 9)
- Phoebe Cervelli, Nieve McRae, Max Evans, Vinnie Vickers, Winifred McAllister Brown, Charlie Gibson (Year 10).

The ceremonies featured a haka pōwhiri performed by Te Mākahi o Tititea (MAC's kapa haka group), and performances by the MAC junior band, the MAC Orchestra, Bella Wright, and student band 'Rip Cord'.

MAC is very grateful to prize sponsors Wastebusters, Racers Edge, Revology, and Mitre Ten MEGA.

More information: Please contact Principal Nicola Jacobsen on 03 443 0498 or principal@mtaspiring.school.nz

Related documents

- List of award winners (Years 7 and 8)
- List of award winners (Years 9 and 10)

Related images

- Image 1: Best all round students Years 7 & 8 (L-R): Bill Dobson (Y7), Edie Yandall (Y7), Principal Nicola Jacobsen, Alice Chaly (Y8), Emily Anderson (Y8)
- Image 2: Highest academic achievers Year 7 (L-R): Tenki Watanabe, P J Foxley, Bill Dobson, Emily Boswell, Sami Reid, Edie Yandall, Tyla Scherger
- Image 3: Highest academic achievers Year 8 (L-R): Emily Anderson, Logan Davidson, Malcie Cervelli, Sam Seville, Finn Tomes, Travis Clarke (Absent: Jack Sutherland)
- Image 4: Best all round students Years 9 & 10 (L-R): Emma Head (Y9), Principal Nicola Jacobsen, Madi Smith (Y10), Zoe Waddington (Y10) (Absent: Deacon Gwilliam Browne)
- Image 5: Highest academic achievers Year 9 (L-R): Blanka Lewis, Stella Harper, Oscar Adams, Bella Wright, Lily Brown, Amber Gemmell, Liam Thomas, Sierra Emmitt
- Image 6: Highest academic achievers Year 10 (L-R): Vinnie Vickers, Charlie Gibson, Max Evans, Winifred McAllister Brown, Nieve McRae, Phoebe Cervelli