MEDIA RELEASE



24 October 2024

MAC CELEBRATES COMMITMENT AND ACHIEVEMENT IN THE ARTS, SERVICE AND TE AO MÃORI

Te Kura o Tititea Mount Aspiring College last night <Wednesday 23 October> celebrated the commitment and achievement of its students in the arts, service and te ao Māori.

Principal Nicola Jacobsen said the awards reflected the breadth of opportunities available to students at the college.

"In addition to our strong focus on academic excellence, we encourage our students to make the most of all aspects of college life so they can grow and be proud of who they are.

"The arts offer our students a window into the human experience, allowing them to develop the skills they need to tell their own stories and explore different perceptions of the world and their place in it, through music, drama, dance and visual art.

"Developing a deeper understanding of te ao Māori within our learning community is one of our strategic priorities so we are thrilled to see students recognised for growing te ao Māori at our school.

"Our recognition of service reflects how important we believe it is for students to give their time and skills in the service of others at our school and in the local community and beyond."

Arts Service Blues are awarded to students who have dedicated significant time and effort to serving school and/or community arts groups; Arts Achievement Blues are awarded to students who have attained high-level achievements in the arts; Arts Commendation Certificates are awarded to students who have shown commitment, leadership or achievement within the arts for a particular year.

Students awarded Service Blues were recognised for their high standard of achievement and commitment to voluntary service at the school or in the local community, including service to the school library, MINT, Kahu Youth, Hato Hone St John, and the 40 Hour Challenge.

Te Ao Māori Blues were awarded to students for their contribution to te ao Māori and leadership and achievement in this area, including regular participation in Te Mākahi o Tititea (kapa haka) practices and performances, whānau hui leadership, cultural committee membership, and involvement in kura reo and other language wānanga.

Selected students were awarded MAC Values Awards in recognition of the way their behaviour reflects our school values, and special awards were also given to students who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and achievement in the arts and culture.

MAC is immensely grateful to the staff and community members and organisations who generously dedicate their time to support and provide opportunities for its students to pursue their passions.

More information: Please contact Principal Nicola Jacobsen on 03 443 0498 or principal@mtaspiring.school.nz

LIST OF AWARDS

ARTS COMMENDATION CERTIFICATE

Alice Chaly Caitlin Harridge Emma Head Abby Jago Isabella Noble-Kirkbride Nico Pettit Domenico Robinson Ruby Smith

ARTS SERVICE BLUE

Emily Anderson Mikayla Botting Kasey Brooks Cholula Brown Mila Culpitt Mikayla Duncan Harrison Eastwood Hannah Gillespie Maja Griffith-Jones Zoe Gumpatzes Abby Jago Alex Kettle Suki Leigh Emily McCarthy Dani Maguire Toby Mills Otis Murphy Elizabeth Pell Zoe Raffills Domenico Robinson Grace Thomas Kaitlyn Tooley Mia Waite Nat Warburton Zara Weatherly Susannah West

ARTS ACHIEVEMENT BLUE

Mikayla Duncan Casey Knights Johnston Dani Maguire Isabel Martin Otis Murphy Ania-Kanu Saklani Olive Sinclair Grace Thomas Mia Waite Nat Warburton Lucy Wellington

SERVICE BLUE

Cholula Brown Blake Cotton-Everitt Tane Haines Alexis-Sofia Harvey-Wills Lottie Hunt Ruby Ives Ruby Laming Amelia Latchford Jessie McNeil Toby Mills Josh Moody Grace Thomas Caspar Waddington Zoe Waddington Susannah West Lily Wilson

TE AO MĀORI COMMENDATION CERTIFICATE

Alice Chaly Emma Head

TE AO MÃORI SERVICE BLUE

Nico Pettit Sacha Swanson Jacob Toomey Zoe Waddington

MAC VALUES AWARDS

Manaakitanga Awards Arts: James Watson Te Ao Māori: Sacha Swanson Service: Toby Mills Whanaungatanga Awards Arts: Otis Murphy Te Ao Māori: Ryan Enoka Service: Alexis-Sofia Harvey-Wills

Aroha Awards Arts: Zoe Raffills Te Ao Māori: Nico Pettit Service: Jessie McNeil

Ihi Awards Arts: Suki Leigh Te Ao Māori: Alexis-Sofia Harvey-Wills Service: Lily Wilson

SPECIAL AWARDS

Junior Music Award 7&8: Emily Anderson Junior Music Award 9&10: Emma Head Senior Music Tech Award: Sam Wilson Senior Music Award: Amy Benson Thomson Award for Dance: Hannah Gillespie and Elizabeth Pell

Thomson Wright Award for Direction and Backstage: Tivi De'Souza

King Family Performing Arts Award: Otis Murphy

Haskell Award for Excellence in Drama: Suki Leigh

Kurano Live Music Grant: Harrison Eastwood

Kurano Composition Award: Bryne Bloxham

Kurano Musical Performance Award: Meela Sergeant Latta

Senior Visual Art Award: Isabella Noble-Kirkbride

Senior Language Award: Evie Pendlebury

Tecorians Award for Senior Speech: Josh Moody

Aspiring Writers Award: Elsa Buckley Senior Debating Award: Zoe Laws